Busting a New Move! Or revisiting an old one?

Portraits are the real deal!

Portraits are the real deal!

For Sure!

Trained as a Graphic Designer my creative history leads me from Newspaper Editorial Design, Brochures and Logos to Wedding Photography, Portraits and Product Photography. Now in my 40’s, a mother of three . I am loving everyday photography and focusing on the little things. Capturing a fleeting mood on the face of a child helps to feed my hunger for capturing the essence of life in my work! My world! I have had so many comments and wonderful encouragement from others in regards to the images I have captured of my own children. I’m now striving to find that fine balance with others children.  I’m eager to grab the essence of others and see how far I can run with it! I’m looking for clients with that same open-minded desire! I have a huge desire to make my photography business grow and be successful and sustainable. A lot of “Mum” photographers make the mistake of starting their business based on the fact they have the gear already and so any contribution to the household income is just a wonderful ego boost. They fail (including myself) to make their business one that can maintain itself. They don’t factor in the costs of upgrading technology, replacing old gear and maintenance on equipment. They never think to pay themselves a wage let alone putting some aside to pay super, tax, gst and so on and so forth. A lot of clients forget that every business needs to factor in these costs and often opt for the cheapest professional on the market. Being a mother of three, I have up until now leant on the gear that I have and believed that hubbies income will be enough. Without flexibility to go back to work to make a wage little amounts that come in through photography every now and then are a treat. But now our children are heading up in the years we need that second income badly so to justify my prices and pay respect to paying myself more than $2.50 an hour I have come up with some packages that suit me and hopefully will suit many happy clients. I also believe that by giving my photos away on disk by the 100’s is not an ultimately happy option. To give you the chance to have your images printed professionally for your wall or coffee table will make you and I feel like we have produced something special. We will have achieved something together. If you spent hundreds even thousands of dollars to have me take your images the last thing you want is to have to go down to your local 9c a pic printer and spend more money for an often inferior product. Not that I don’t give you the option to purchase downloads. But that’s only once we have produced something we can hold in our hands! So stay tuned. My packages will be coming your way shortly! I just have to work through what I want to offer! Keep smiling and wish me luck! Nomewome

Naomi Petrack Photography

Leave a Reply

