Paradise comes with it’s own costs! OR Midlife Crisis?

I'm like a bird, I want to fly away.....But I know where my home is!

I’m like a bird, I want to fly away…..But I know where my home is!

White Goshawk. Always a friendly face when we see him! Ok Unless we have baby chicks running about! But totally unrelated to the story I’m about to tell!

Now all my blogs have been light hearted and not at all controversial. I’m just a simple lass after all. But as I sit here in my cold house on a wet winters day in August. Trying to keep my toddler warm without costing us a fortune in electricity costs I just feel the need to vent a little.

Please be aware that this is not in anyway meant to upset anyone. It’s all about ME! And I think the beginnings of a midlife -crisis!

About the heating… We installed a heat pump and we were so close to pulling out the wood heater but are so thankful we didn’t as electricity bills have gone up so much in the last few years that this is the third winter we haven’t afforded to put it on. But wood costs to buy too you say. Yes it does. We buy, scrounge off cuts from a mill with all the rehoused refugees and buy a licence each year to cut wood. This is time we could be spending as a family between school and all the other commitments children seem to accumulate as they grow. No we must cut wood. That leads me to renovating….

We have renovated each of the two homes we have lived in over 20 years. (That is we sold one to buy the next). In this house that we have gone into debit further to extend and replace the roof which would have caused the whole house to eventually collapse in years to come due to dodgy illegal renovations 20-30 years before we bought it.. Still hasn’t got a new kitchen. It would be maybe 30-40 years old. We can’t afford to replace it. We will continue to spend our precious time, money as we have it and youth to perfecting our home without outside aide until we are too old and then who knows?

I’m not complaining but setting the scene here. We have not paid for anyone to paint our old house. We have done this ourselves over years. My hubby built our deck. The constant maintenance on an old house is our love as well as looking after the garden and it’s dozen bloody roses bushes! And we are so very grateful to have it mortgaged in our name.

It all takes time. More affluent Australian’s spend their time dining out or going overseas for holidays while a paid gardener/cleaner/painter looks after their assets! But that is their luck. We have luck in other areas of life, being the fact we have 3 of the most beautiful creatures that have ever lived as our children. We give them all we can.

I am reaching 40 now and I can see clearly the sacrifices I have made in the name of the obviously “out-of-date’ Aussie dream of a supportive partner, a job, house and children. (We can’t afford the vet fees to consider the dog!) Plus we stayed in Tassie!  I will have bugger all ‘super’ when I retire. I wonder what that will bring when so many couples choose not to have children? They will live like kings while parents who have grown the next generation of Australian’s will  live like poorpers in a country that pretends to support the needs of middle class Australian’s?????? OR will Super be so taxed that the scarifies they have made NOT to have children wont make them any better off????

Yes we pay for a Catholic Education. We struggle to do what we think is right! Hike up the prices there Mr Priminister and see how you can afford to keep thousands of extra children educated in State schools when the average Aussie’s who pay for schooling can’t push themselves to pay the fees anymore!

As of last year I have a cert III in Education Support. Didn’t realise at the time that there was NO JOBS and after working 1 term in a school have no job security and no paid holidays, no nothing! How can I afford to pay for childcare ‘just incase ‘ a school can afford an Aide for a day here and there????? Hence my hands are totally tied until my youngest goes to school in 2015! Give the schools more money for crying out loud!

There isn’t much opportunity for employment here in Tasmania and while I was bed ridden with my pregnancies my career in graphics slipped away. No temping agencies in Launi! I have tried to reinvent myself half a dozen times and will continue to try until something gives me the flexibility to work and look after a home and nuture a family without setting  my marriage on a path to destruction. Too many paths leading away from home for too long is no good! I don’t want to ever get divorced! I do not want ever for my children to feel I have neglected them!  Is my choice wrong?

But I DO, want to be able to bring in a little bit of money and I want our business to take off in some direction that will keep me interested and make enough from it to give it and me purpose. That would be SUPER FANTASTIC!

I feel time is starting to grow short for me in as far as getting my career underway. I really hope I am wrong!

I don’t remember facts and figures regarding politics and rising debit but I do know all I hear at the moment is negative to my situation! Money needs to be spent to upgrade infrastructure. I worry about medical needs when we are ill. Even with Private Health Insurance??????? What a farce really. Anyway, we wont go there. I don’t take my children to the doctors like I used to as we simply can’t afford to. We make do! Google is a great tool!

This is leading me to mention the local News report on TV last night. It showed a picture of our Premier and the State’s growing unemployment percentages. In 2 years the unemployment rate has jumped by 3%. (Over 8% now!) That’s not including me and others like me trying to scratch something out of working from home. My other siblings have had to move away and have no children to make a good living!

I don’t mind battling I really don’t. It keeps you humble and it’s good for the sole. But only to an extent. Prolonged abuse and I am concerned our health will suffer! My husband works full-time and also he has taken onboard a Masters degree in what can’t be classed as spare time! It is during the night. 2-4 hours in bed a night he gets! Why is he doing this? We both aren’t quite sure yet but maybe it might help somewhere down the track? But we have to do something to maybe help our cause even when the path is unclear! But it is clear only 1 of us can complete uni at a time in this juggle!

I am concerned that the cost of giving our children the same options we had is becoming beyond our reach! I’m worried about where the money will come from. Where have the days gone where a Father’s wage supported the family and the Mother’s meagre earnings were the icing on the cake so that the children could have a week away at the beach in summer? Everything is so much more expensive! Don’t get me started on groceries and how ‘up-with-it’ I have to be with Flybuy tokens to get $20’s off! What….. no not going there!

Made in Tassie and proud. But how much is it worth to stay here? I wont be voting Labor I’m sorry to say. It’s time to see if Liberal can change things for me and don’t give me “It’s all about the global financial crisis”.  I don’t think either party can help. But it’s worth a try? … Maybe? Hey, America was up the shit yesterday almost in collapse. Now their dollar is worth more than ours again and climbing! Are we almost in collapse now? I’m confused?

The bottom line though is as I said, “I’m just a simple middle class  AUSTRALIAN/tasmanian what do I know??” But I do know I live in paradise. I don’t live in a war zone nor have I had to live through a natural disaster. (Though they have occurred here in Tassie in the form of bush fires!) I also have many good people around me. There is also opportunity though limited, there is. AND WE HAVE OUR HEALTH! So why am I complaining? I have just come to the realisation that paradise this may be, but it comes it seems with it’s own costs! ………… or is it midlife crisis?

Have a good weekend

Nomewome

4 thoughts on “Paradise comes with it’s own costs! OR Midlife Crisis?

  1. Unfortunately I can relate to everything you’ve said and I live in Brisbane, so it’s not much better up here. I think the Labour government has brought Australia to it’s knees and has made it harder for families, who are the backbone of Australia I might add, to make ends meet. And don’t get me started on the grocery bill! We just buy the necessities now. In my opinion, I don’t think uprooting your family would be the answer. Maybe just wait until after the election before you make a decision. I won’t be voting Labour either and I don’t know if Liberal is the answer, but it’s worth a shot. Anything’s got to be better than this damn government! They’ve been playing their mindless games and destroying the country all in the name of egotism. I think a lot of families are hurting right now. Hang in there. There’s some comfort in knowing that you’re not alone 🙂

    • Thank you! You make me feel like crying! I feel a bit exposed by sharing this information but I think I need to hear that I’m not alone! Thank you for your comment! I really appreciate it! xx

  2. Hey chicka
    Your comments resonate with me too. I think a lot of people are struggling at the moment and are worried for what the future holds, so the main thing I would like you to know is that you’re not alone.
    I do wonder whether things have really gotten worse (under this government or under previous ones). Or whether this is something that most generations experience (bar those very lucky people who have been raised with no money worries whatsoever, and I also think that can come at a cost). I certainly remember my family living from paycheck to paycheck as my parents tried to build their own house – with mum working and then having to look after us children while dad also worked, and dad built the house in the evenings and weekends after work – those sorts of circumstances put enormous pressure on a family.
    I do think there are pressures whichever way you do it – a double income family with both parents working and racing from work to child care both two exhausted to invest in their relationship and their own individual dreams doesn’t sound much better than a single income family in which mum sacrifices her own financial freedom to look after children and everyone is only scraping by. Both seem like they’re hard in their own way.
    I’m certainly given some thought to who I’ll be voting for in the upcoming election, but I know I simply can’t vote for Liberal, not with what they’ll do to Asylum Seekers, and women’s rights and the very conservative view they bring to many other issues. My dilemma is that Labour is barley better when it comes to Asylum Seekers and other issues.
    And with a baby on the way, I too am a little scared about the financial challenges and lifestyle changes I’ll be facing in the near future.
    So anyway, I don’t think there are any easy answers. But I’d like you to know you’re not alone. And I appreciate your honesty.
    Take care, my love
    Rach

    • Thanks Rach for your thoughts. I certainly agree that growing up was not at all one with lots of money. But we certainly had lots of free options. We knocked around with the neighbourhood kids and there was far more the sense of community that there is now. Plus activities weren’t pay upfront . You could pay as you go. If you couldn’t go you weren’t out of pocket! There’s a price on everything we do these days. Insurance pops into mind. That has put a dampener on so many things. Even the Basin Concert died and I’m sure that was all down to ‘insurance’. Money makes the world go round and it’s so hard to find these days. Plus kids seem to need so many more things to participate in life than what we needed. All of which needs paying for.
      I don’t think either party has a clue as to what to do about Asylum Seekers. What are the Liberals saying about women’s rights?
      Best of luck with Bub. It’s not an easy road but it’s worth it! Keep in touch! xx

Leave a Reply

